Arboretum Committee

The Arboretum is a center within the UW–Madison Graduate School and as such is under the oversight of the campus dean of the Graduate School and vice-chancellor for research (DGS/VCR). The DGS/VCR appoints a director who is responsible for providing leadership to and implementing the mission and policies of the Arboretum.

The Arboretum Committee is a standing governance committee appointed by the chancellor in consultation with the DGS/VCR. The Arboretum Committee draws its membership from constituent groups and faculty/staff who have a stake in its diverse programs and operations. The function of the Arboretum Committee is to advise the DGS/VCR and the Arboretum director on procedures and policies regarding the use, management, and direction of Arboretum lands and facilities in order to facilitate the research, teaching, and education/outreach functions of the Arboretum in support of its overall mission.

2013–14 Arboretum Committee Members

James Burt, Dept. of Geography
Kenneth Cameron, Botany Dept.
David Drake (chair), Dept. of Forest and Wildlife Ecology
Patricia Loew, Dept. of Life Sciences Communication
Steven Loheide, Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Katherine McMahon, Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Sara Minkoff, Arboretum

Ex officio, voting
Kris Ackerbauer, FPM, Physical Plant
Matt Carlson, Board of the Friends of the Arboretum
Rhonda James, FPM, Campus Planning and Landscape Architecture
Donna Paulnock, Arboretum
Joy Zedler, Botany Dept.

Ex officio, non-voting
Gary Brown, Lakeshore Nature Preserve
TBA, Student representative