Earth Partnership for Schools

RESTORE Institute participants identify prairie plants

Institute participants draw a vista perspective of Curtis Prairie, the world's oldest restored prairie, for the activity "Visual Assessment: A Landscape Through an Artist's Eye.”

Earth Partnership Institutes

We invite teachers to participate in a one-week summer Earth Partnership Institute for graduate credit. You will learn how to use the process of ecological restoration as a broad environmental context for teaching and learning about your local natural and cultural communities. The process of habitat restoration is an exciting real-life project that extends through the K–12 curriculum and beyond, and includes many disciplines such as science, math, social studies, language arts, and related arts.

Discover how restoring native ecosystems can:

  • Invigorate your school and community through interdisciplinary learning experiences and citizen science approaches for all ages
  • Enhance community awareness, skills, and knowledge of stewardship actions to enhance biodiversity and prevent pollution through restoration and bio-retention
  • Support relevant learning that connects youth to culture and place while teaching ecological and environmental issues and solutions
  • Inspire a personal understanding of their relationship with others and the natural world

Download highlights from the 2013 Summer Institutes
Summaries and highlights from the 2013 institutes (PDF)


2014 Summer Institutes

Download the 2014 Summer Institute schedule, or see the list below.
2014 Summer Institutes schedule (PDF)

June 2–6
Hesston, Kansas: Dyck Arboretum of the Plains
Contact: Brad Guhr, bradg@hesston.edu

June 9–13
St. Louis, Missouri: Litzinger Road Ecology Center
Register online

June 16–20
Michigan City, Indiana
Contact: Nicole Messacar, nmessacar@laportecounty.org

June 23–27
Cleveland, Ohio: Cuyahoga Valley National Park
Contact: Pamela Barnes, pamela_barnes@nps.gov

July 7–11
Madison, Wisconsin: UW–Madison Arboretum Visitor Center
Contact: Claire Shaller, cshaller@wisc.edu
Latino Earth Partnership Institute: download LEP application packet

Chapel Hill, North Carolina: North Carolina Botanical Garden
Contact: Grant Parkins, parkins@unc.edu

July 14–18
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin: Lac du Flambeau Natural Resources Department
Contact: Claire Shaller, cshaller@wisc.edu
Indigenous Arts and Sciences Institute: download IAS application packet

Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Urban Ecology Center
Contact: Kathy Palmer, kpalmer@urbanecologycenter.org
Water Stewardship Institute: download GLWS application packet

July 21–25
Chicago, Illinois: DuPage County at Fullersburg Woods Nature Education Center
Contact: Becky Ammann, rammann@chicagobotanic.org

Green Bay, Wisconsin: Curly Lambeau Cottage, UW–Green Bay
Contact: Libby Dorn, elizabeth.dorn@ces.uwex.edu
Water Stewardship Institute: download GLWS application packet

July 28–August 1
Ashland, Wisconsin: Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Contact: Claire Shaller, cshaller@wisc.edu
Indigenous Arts and Sciences Institute: download IAS application packet

Sacramento, CA
Contact: Karleen Vollherbst, karleen_vollherbst@fws.gov

Erie, Pennsylvania: Tom Ridge Environmental Center, Presque Isle State Park
Contact: Nate Millet, nmillet@environmenterie.org

Chicago, Illinois: McHenry County Conservation District
Contact: Mary Kozub, mkozub@mccdistrict.org

Grand Rapids, Michigan: Groundswell Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative
Contact: Colleen Bourque, bourquec@gvsu.edu

August 4–8
LaFarge, Wisconsin: Kickapoo Valley Reserve Visitor Center
Contact: Claire Shaller, cshaller@wisc.edu
Water Stewardship Institute: download Kickapoo application packet

St. Croix Valley, Wisconsin: Scenic Riverway Headquarters
Contact: Claire Shaller, cshaller@wisc.edu
Water Stewardship Institute: download St. Croix application packet

Muskegon, Michigan
Contact: Erica Johnson, ejohnson@muskegonisd.org