ARBORETUM NEWS (EARTH PARTNERSHIP FOR SCHOOLS)

2011 Earth Partnership for Schools Teacher Institutes in CA, ID, NV, OR, WA; and also KS, IL, IN, MN, MO, NC, NE and WI

TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2011

RESTORE West/North-west teams trained at the Arboretum in 2010 will begin to make Earth Partnership for Schools available as follows:

Sacramento, CA. June 20-24. CONTACT:
Carolyn Kolstad, Carolyn_kolstad@fws.gov Karleen Vollherbst, Schoolyard Habitat Coordinator, Karleen_vollherbst@fws.gov US Fish & Wildlife Service, 2800 Cottage Way, Suite 2606, Sacramento, CA 95825, 916-978-6158

Center for Land-Based Learning, 5265 Putah Creek Road, Winters, CA 95694, 530-795-1544, Nina Suzuki, Student and Landowner Education and Watershed Stewardship (SLEWS) Director, nina@landbasedlearning.org

Soil Born Farms, P.O. Box 661175, Sacramento, CA 95866, 916-363-9685
Guy Galante, Education Director, ggalante@soilborn.org

Las Vegas, Nevada: March 12, 19, 26, April 2 and April 9.
Reno, Nevada: The Institute will be offered as 15 hours units. The first unit is May 13 – 14. Other dates TBD. CONTACT:
Michelle Hunt, schoolyard habitat coordinatorUSFWS Las Vegas, 4701 N. Torrey Pines Dr., Las Vegas, NV 89130 (702)515-5245Michelle_Hunt@fws.gov

Olympia, Washington: June 24 – 29. CONTACT: Kathy Jacobson, coordinator, Educational Service District 113 Chehalis Basin Education Consortium, Educational Service District 1B, 601 McFee Rd SW, Olympia, WA 98502 (360)464-6722
kjacobson@esd113.k12.wa.us

Portland, Oregon: August 15 to 19.CONTACT: Maureen Hosty
OSU Extension 4-H, 3421 SE Salmon, Portland, OR 97214
(503)916-6075
maureen.hosty@oregonstate.edu

Moscow, Idaho: Five days spread through May, June, July, and September, specific dates TBD.
Jill Diamond, Russell Elementary School, 119 N. Adams St., Moscow, ID 83843. (208)882-5454, diamondj@msd281.org
Eric Hudelson, 6th grade teacher, idahohud@gmail.com
Nikki Stusick, Palouse-Clearwater Environmental Institute, Nicole.stusick@gmail.com

EPS teacher professional development will continue in 2011 at on-going partner sites in Kansas, Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina and Wisconsin. See 2011 EPS Institutes.
2011 EPS Institutes

Located between Lake Wingra and the West Beltline Highway at 1207 Seminole Highway, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Arboretum features the restored prairies, forests and wetlands of pre-settlement Wisconsin. This 1,260-acre arboretum also houses flowering trees, shrubs and a world-famous lilac collection. Educational tours for groups and the general public, science and nature-based classes for all ages and abilities, and a wide variety of volunteer opportunities for groups, families and individuals are available.