ARBORETUM NEWS (EARTH PARTNERSHIP FOR SCHOOLS)

Earth Partnership Institutes Summer 2013

WEDNESDAY, MAY 8, 2013

2013 Earth Partnership Institutes will feature Indigenous Arts and Sciences and Water Stewardship.

Edgewood College June 3-7, Edgewood College, UW-Madison Arboretum, Cheryl Bauer-Armstrong cherylbauser@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5264

Milwaukee River Basin June 17 – 21, Urban Ecology Center, Washington Park
Kathy Palmer, Urban Ecology Center, (414) 964-8505, kpalmer@urbanecologycenter.org

Learning from the Land July 8-12, UW-Whitewater, UW_Madison Arboretum, Maria Moreno, mdmoreno@wisc.edu, (608) 262-9925

St. Croix River Basin July 15-19 St. Croix National Scenic Riverway Headquarters
Rick Hall, UW-Madison Arboretum, (608) 262-5367, rdhall@uwarb.wisc.edu

Learning from the Land UW-Madison College for Kids July 22-26, Janet Moore, jcmoore3@wisc.edu, (608) 262-9925

Chicago Earth Partnership, July 22-26.

Green Bay Fox River Basin July 22–26, UW-Green Bay, Lambeau Cottage
Libby Dorn, Brown County UW-Extension, (920) 391-4655 elizabeth.dorn@ces.uwex.edu

Indigenous Arts & Sciences July 29 – August 2, Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, Ashland
Susan Nelson, USDA Forest Service, (715) 685-9983, sbnelson@fs.fed.us

Chicago Great Lakes July 29-Aug. 2

Indigenous Arts & Sciences, Lac du Flambeau Aug. 12-14, Brian Gautier,
brian.gauthier@ces.uwex.edu, 715-588-4251

Lower Wisconsin River Basins August 12 –16, Belmont Elementary School, Belmont and UW-Arboretum, Francesco Accomando, faccomando@gmail.com

Located between Lake Wingra and the West Beltline Highway at 1207 Seminole Highway, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Arboretum features the restored prairies, forests and wetlands of pre-settlement Wisconsin. This 1,260-acre arboretum also houses flowering trees, shrubs and a world-famous lilac collection. Educational tours for groups and the general public, science and nature-based classes for all ages and abilities, and a wide variety of volunteer opportunities for groups, families and individuals are available.